Governance and Governors

Our school is governed by our Council of Management. They meet at least six times a year and are accountable for upholding our Waldorf ethos, major strategic decisions, evaluating risks and maintaining the financial and educational viability of the school.

Elmfield's Council - Governance, what is it & why?

Members of Council are volunteers, freely giving time, knowledge & skills, to work as the school's governing body. Elmfield, as a not-for-profit charity, is obliged to have trustees with the duty to ensure the school does what it was set up to do, which is,  provide "education according to the principles of Rudolf Steiner", and , in doing so, meet the test of "public benefit" as defined by the Charity Commission. Similarly, Council members are also directors of a company "limited by guarantee", answerable to Elmfield School Association, which elects them. The word "Council" therefore integrates governance, trusteeship & director responsibilities in line with the schools constitution & legal framework.............

 

.............Elmfield school relies upon the high quality and commitment of its staff, but also on the contribution of the Council.   If you are interested in becoming a member of Council, please consider the information included here and see the school website for vacancies, following the contact information and application process indicated. School governance may not be easy, but it is rewarding

To read the whole document which was written by Kevin Avison click here

 

Kevin Avison, is currently our Trustee Oversight for Pedagogy serving from Feb 2020  Professionally Kevin was an Executive Officer and Senior Advisor working for the Steiner Waldorf Schools Fellowship UK (SWSF) for 22 years. Kevin also taught at Elmfield early in his career.  

To apply for Council Vacancies see our Vacancies Page here

Our current members of Council are:

  • Chair - Sue Dawson (councilchair@elmfield.com)
  • Vice Chair - Ursula Werner (ursula.werner@elmfield.com)
  • Safeguarding - Sue Dawson (councilchair@elmfield.com)
  • Staff Trustee (Learning Support) - Sue Dutton (sue.dutton@elmfield.com)
  • Early Years - Ursula Werner (ursula.werner@elmfield.com)
  • Estates - Sue Dawson (sue.dawson@elmfield.com)
  • Health and Safety - Rachel Shieber (rachel.shieber@elmfield.com)
  • Human Resources - Jennifer Willmott (jennifer.willmott@elmfield.com)
  • Finance - Craig Willmott (craig.willmott@elmfield.com)
  • Pedagogy Oversight - Kevin Avison (kevin.avison@elmfield.com)
  • Boarding - Julian Gilde (julian.gilde@elmfield.com)
  • Marketing & Communications - Vacancy
  • Staff Trustees x 2 Vacancy 
  • Clerk to Trustees - Vacancy  
  • Simon Birch / Stuart Gallagher, Interim School Lead (non-voting member) – simon.birch@elmfield.com stuart.gallagher@elmfield.com
  • Gertraud Soukup, Chair of College (non-voting member) – gertraud.soukup@elmfield.com

Members of the Council of Management can be also contacted via the school’s office on 01384 394633, or by writing to Elmfield Rudolf Steiner School, Love Lane, Stourbridge, DY8 2EA.

The Council's Annual Work Plan for 2020/2021 can be found by clicking here

Our Strategic Plan for 2019-2024 can be found by clicking here.