Governance and Governors

Our school is governed by our Council of Management. They meet at least six times a year and are accountable for upholding our Waldorf ethos, major strategic decisions, evaluating risks and maintaining the financial and educational viability of the school.

Elmfield's Council of Management - Governance: What is it and Why?

Members of Council are volunteers, freely giving time, knowledge and skills, to work as the school's governing body. Elmfield, as a not-for-profit charity, is obliged to have Trustees whose duty it is to ensure the school does what it was set up to do, which is, provide "education according to the principles of Rudolf Steiner", and in doing so, meet the test of "public benefit" as defined by the Charity Commission. Similarly, Council members are also Directors of a Company "limited by guarantee" answerable to Elmfield School Association, which elects them. The word "Council" therefore integrates governance, trusteeship and directorship responsibilities in line with the schools constitution & legal framework.

Elmfield Rudolf Steiner School relies not only upon the quality and commitment of its staff, but also on the contribution of its Council. School governance may not be easy, but it is incredibly rewarding!

To read the whole document written by Kevin Avison click here

Kevin Avison, is currently our Trustee Oversight for Pedagogy serving from February 2020.  Professionally Kevin was an Executive Officer and Senior Advisor working for the Steiner Waldorf Schools Fellowship UK (SWSF) for 22 years. Kevin also taught at Elmfield early in his career. 

If you are interested in becoming a member of Council, please consider this information and follow the application process for our Council Vacancies which are on our Vacancies Page here

Our current members of Council are:

  • Chair - Sue Dawson (councilchair@elmfield.com)
  • Vice Chair - Ursula Werner (ursula.werner@elmfield.com)
  • Safeguarding - Sue Dawson (councilchair@elmfield.com)
  • Staff Trustee (Learning Support) - Sue Dutton (sue.dutton@elmfield.com)
  • Early Years - Ursula Werner (ursula.werner@elmfield.com)
  • Estates - Rachel Shieber (rachel.shieber@elmfield.com)
  • Health and Safety - Rachel Shieber (rachel.shieber@elmfield.com)
  • Staff Welfare - Paul Moore-Bridger (paul.moore-bridger@elmfield.com)
  • Human Resources - Vacancy
  • Finance - Craig Willmott (craig.willmott@elmfield.com)
  • Pedagogy Oversight - Kevin Avison (kevin.avison@elmfield.com)
  • Boarding - Julian Gilde (julian.gilde@elmfield.com)
  • Marketing & Communications - Appointment in progress
  • Staff Trustees - 2 Vacancies 
  • Clerk to Trustees - Vacancy  
  • Simon Birch, Interim School Lead (non-voting member) – simon.birch@elmfield.com
  • Gertraud Soukup, Chair of College (non-voting member) – gertraud.soukup@elmfield.com

Members of the Council of Management can be also contacted via the school’s office on 01384 394633, or by writing to Elmfield Rudolf Steiner School, Love Lane, Stourbridge, DY8 2EA.

The Council's Annual Work Plan for 2020/2021 can be found by clicking here

Our Strategic Plan for 2019-2024 can be found by clicking here.